Songwriting for the total idiot (that would be me)

So, out of the blue, driving home, a song hit me square between the eyes. I didn’t want to lose it, so I continued to sing/hum/whistle it until I could get Garageband up to record it. And of course, that’s when all the trouble starts.

Oh, no, don’t get me wrong. It recorded fine. But then, it needed tweaking, revamping verses and trying to figure out chords to the tune. You see, I’m a singer, NOT a player. Shall we kindly say that I’m “chordally challenged”?

So, here I am, with a song, I think, and it’s got verses and a chorus, and…and…now what? Do I sit down with an instrument and try to figure out chords? Maybe. Is it any good? I don’t know. I’d like to think so, but who knows? Like many of us, I’m a little shy about trotting the baby out for everyone to see. I mean, someone might exclaim that the baby is ugly, or malformed, or just plain wrong to look at. So you see my plight. sigh. I’ll go back to work on it and see what I think.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

