Cemetery musings

So, I had occasion to visit a blog that I check on from time to time and noticed that the author was visiting family graves. And it got me to thinking…

In our family, we went to the cemetery often through the year. It was like visiting any other member of the family, and treated the same way. The only difference was that we brought flowers to the graves in the cemetery.

I still visit the cemetery. I clean up the graves, and when I find neglect or damage, I complain to the office. I talk to my relatives and I bring them flowers. Not only for remembrance, but to show the world at large, as well as the cemetery workers, that these people are loved and cared about, still, even after almost 60 years in some cases. These are people that mattered, that matter still.

We remember our dead, and hope that they remember us.

This entry was posted in Death and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

